Award Sections

In designing their Award, Participants create a unique program of activities over a set period and across four Sections: Service, Physical Recreation, Skill and Adventurous Journey. For the Gold level of The Duke of Ed, there’s the fifth Section, Residential Project.

The Sections provide the framework that opens the door to a virtually endless range of activities, challenges and adventures. By understanding what each Section involves, young people can choose activities that enhance their experience while ensuring that they meet all the requirements of the Award.

For each Section activity, Participants need to find appropriate Assessors to mentor them. The role of the Assessor is to monitor the Participant’s progress towards their goal and write a short report at the conclusion of their activity period.

An Assessor is someone who:

  • has a current Working With Children Check
  • is over the age of 18
  • is more skilled, experienced or qualified in the activity than the Participant
  • is not an immediate family member
  • is able to help set a goal for the activity
  • is able to oversee the Participant’s progress
  • will write a report outlining the Participant’s achievement

Read more about each of the Award Sections:

  • “Before, I would only dream of what I could do; now I still dream, but I also go out and do it!”

    Sam Burdon, Gold Awardee
  • “The current environment is very challenging for young people, so it’s important they try to make themselves more attractive to employers. The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is highly valued by business because they know it helps to develop more rounded individuals.”

    HRH The Earl of Wessex, KG, GCVO, ADC Trustee
  • “I believe The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award and other programs operated by the not-for-profit Awards Victoria Ltd are vital as they focus on developing our most valuable resource, our young people, who ultimately create the future of our community.”

    Gary Rowe, CEO, Safety Action Pty Ltd and Ambassador of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award