Compass and Bridge Awards

Duke of Ed Victoria believes that every young person should have the opportunity to participate in the Awards which is why we have introduced two additional programs that are both modelled on The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award, but with more flexible requirements:

  • The Compass Award (for 10-14 year olds)
  • The Bridge Award (for 14 years and over, with a disability)
2015 Compass logo
The Compass Award is a program of discovery for young people aged 10 – 14 years old. 

Modelled on The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award, The Compass Award is designed to enhance development of the individual child. Students aged 10-14 years old choose their own challenging activities, learn new skills and in the process, develop initiative and commitment, becoming more responsible and motivated young people. The Compass Award is the chance to gain the benefits of The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award at an earlier age.

There are 4 levels of The Compass Award, each level is broadly aimed at the corresponding age, eg Level 1 for those in year 5, Level 2 for those in year 6 and so on. To achieve The Compass Award at any Level, young people create a unique program of activities (for a set length of time) across four Sections as outlined below. Participants are encouraged to undertake their activities over a period of time rather than complete Award requirements in a single session.

2014 Compass levels only_LS

On completion of The Compass Award participants are encouraged to continue onto The Bronze Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. Participants must be 14 years old to commence the Bronze Award.

More Information?

2015 Bridge logo

The Bridge Award is a program connecting young people and supporting success for those with a disability aged 14 years and above.

Modeled on The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award, The Bridge Award has more flexible requirements, giving Participants the opportunity to achieve their best. The Award can act as a pathway to continue onto The Duke of Ed Award, which has endless benefits for personal development, however The Bridge Award itself is an incredible achievement.

There are four progressive levels of The Bridge Award and Participants can commence at any level according to their ability and confidence. To achieve at any of the four levels, young people choose their own program of activities (for a set length of time) across the four sections as outlined below.

2014 Bridge Award Levels only for web

More Information?

  • “Before, I would only dream of what I could do; now I still dream, but I also go out and do it!”

    Sam Burdon, Gold Awardee
  • “The current environment is very challenging for young people, so it’s important they try to make themselves more attractive to employers. The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is highly valued by business because they know it helps to develop more rounded individuals.”

    HRH The Earl of Wessex, KG, GCVO, ADC Trustee
  • “I believe The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award and other programs operated by the not-for-profit Awards Victoria Ltd are vital as they focus on developing our most valuable resource, our young people, who ultimately create the future of our community.”

    Gary Rowe, CEO, Safety Action Pty Ltd and Ambassador of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award